2018 Annual General Meeting Keynote Presentation: Engineering Clarity

Date: April 18, 2018

Presenter: James O’Callaghan, B Eng, CEng, MIStructE, MHKIE
Director, Eckersley O’Callaghan, London, UK

James O’Callaghan is a Founding Director at the esteemed structural engineering firm Eckersley O’Callaghan in London, UK. Before setting up Eckersley O’Callaghan, James was a principal of Dewhurst Macfarlane’s New York office.

Regarded internationally as an authority on structural use of glass, James was the recipient of the 2010 the Queen’s Award for Enterprise in the category of Innovation and many other awards including the 2014 IStructE Supreme Award for Excellence, the 2016 Milne Medal, the glass industry’s 2017 Phoenix Award. He also holds the position on the Sounding Board at the Design Council – the UK Government’s adviser on Design.

In his keynote address, James explored the world of transparent structures – an Owner and Architect’s dream come true. This masterful expression of art has been mastered by James with his iconic projects spread across the world from Dubai, Shanghai, Tokyo, Sydney, to San Francisco, New York, Paris, Istanbul and London.

In 2001 James was introduced to Steve Jobs. This led to his design partnership with Apple to develop glass as a key element in the identity of their stores. The evening provided his views on the creative urge that has translated into highly innovative designs for the glass stairs, bridges, facades, and other structural elements for Apple and many other notable projects such as the David L Lawrence Convention Center, Pittsburgh.

With his whole company committed to R+D and staff regularly producing papers for publication… it is not unusual to recognize that recently James lead a Facade Engineering Group that specializes in high end facade systems, material research, geometry optimization, energy mitigation and sustainability.

Download brochure

The video recording is restricted to members only.

Member Login

© 2008-2024 Copyright Structural Engineers Association of British Columbia